New Fela Kuti Box Set curated by Erykah Badu

“Fela Kuti is a ****ing Genius. Please listen to these tracks, preferably with a nice blunt.. with a nice slow burn” – Erykah Badu.

We couldn’t agree more. Fela Kuti Box Set #4 is being curated by none other than the neo-soul legend, Erykah Badu, and it is being released tomorrow December 15th. According to the officials at, the limited run has 3,000 copies and comes with a 16”x24” poster designed by Nigerian artist Lemi Ghariokwu (the creative force behind 26 of Fela Kuti‘s album covers), and a 20-page full-color booklet. The booklet features seven personal essays written by Erykah Badu, seven in-depth commentaries by veteran music journalist and Afrobeat historian, Chris May; song lyrics; and never before published photos of Fela Kuti. The audio has been restored and remastered from Fela’s original Nigerian recordings. The artwork for each album has been meticulously recreated from original album artwork, alongside vintage vinyl label artwork. Badu selected Yellow Fever (1976), No Agreement (1977), J.J.D. (Johnny Just Drop) (1977), V.I.P. (1979), Coffin For Head of State(1980), Army Arrangement (1984), and Underground System (1992) for this box set.

Purchase the box set here and heck out the remastered version of Coffin For Head of State Part 2 below!

Written by:

Head of Content. Somewhere between Wizkid & Young Thug.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer adipiscing elit. Aenean commodo ligula eget dolor. Aenean massa. Cum sociis ultricies nec